Math Calendar

Monday, February 26, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
Artuur Oerlemans - Cartan-Dieudonné theorem on orthogonal groups
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
12:00-13:00
HFG 610
SIAM Student Chapter talk
Sarah Gaaf (UU) - TBA
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
Thomas Blom - Real and complex K-theory
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Arne Smeets (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen) - On the diophantine complexity of p-adic fields
Abstract

There are various notions of the diophantine 'complexity' or 'dimension' of a given field. Given any such notion, algebraically closed fields are the simplest ones. At the next level, one usually finds the finite fields and their 'neighbours'. Yet another step up in complexity, the so-called p-adic fields come into the picture.

I will discuss the properties of p-adic fields from the point of view of one particular notion of diophantine complexity, introduced by Serge Lang in the sixties. This will lead us to the theory of polynomial equations in 'many' variables, the celebrated Ax-Kochen theorem and some model theory.

Next, I will discuss a recent improvement to the Ax-Kochen theorem obtained in joint work by Dan Loughran, Alexei Skorobogatov and the speaker. Our approach to the problem makes heavy use of birational and toroidal geometry, and builds on work of Colliot-Thélène and Denef.
Thursday, March 1, 2018
15:30-16:30
KBG Cosmos
The 12th Antonie F. Monna Memorial Lecture / Mathematical Colloquium
Corina Tarnita (Princeton) - Self-organization of complex adaptive systems
Monday, March 5, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
Joost Franssen - The Witt ring and groups of square classes
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Jenya Sapir (MPIM Bonn/SUNY - Binghamton) - Tessellations from long geodesics on surfaces
Abstract: I will talk about a recent result of Athreya, Lalley, Wroten and myself. Given a hyperbolic surface S, a typical long geodesic arc will divide the surface into many polygons. We give statistics for the geometry of a typical tessellation. Along the way, we look at how very long geodesic arcs behave in very small balls on the surface.
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
11:00-12:00
HFG 610
Extra Number Theory Talk
Roberto Miatello (Cordoba) - Distribution of eigenvalues of Hecke operators for GL(2) over a totally real number field
Thursday, March 8, 2018
14:00-15:00
HFG 610
SIAM Student Chapter talk
Keshav Raja (Université Grenoble Alpes) - TBA
Monday, March 12, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
Angelo Mekenkamp - Examples of Witt rings I
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Pieter Belmans (MPI Bonn) - t.b.a.
Thursday, March 15, 2018
16:00-17:00
HFG 610
Extra Number Theory Talk
Piotr Achinger (IHES) - Wild ramification and K(pi, 1) spaces
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Complex Systems Seminar
Robert van de Geijn (U. Texas Austin) - Searching for Edsger Dijkstra
Title: Searching for Edsger Dijkstra
Abstract:
Friday, March 16, 2018
09:00-17:00
Mini-Workshop on Symplectic Geometry (a-e)
09:30-10:30
BBG 001
(a) Agnès Gadbled (Uppsala) - t.b.a.
11:00-12:00
BBG 001
(b) Dietmar Salamon (ETHZ) - t.b.a.
13:00-17:30
BBG 161
Intercity Number Theory Seminar (1-4)
13:00-13:50
BBG 161
(1) Masha Vlasenko (IMPAN) - t.b.a.
13:30-14:30
BBG 161
(c) Darko Milinković (Belgrado) - Lagragian spectral invarians for open subsets
14:00-14:50
BBG 161
(2) Diego Izquierdo (ENS) - t.b.a.
15:00-15:45
BBG 161
(d) Michael Entov (Technion) - First steps of the symplectic function theory
15:30-16:20
BBG 161
(3) Sara Checolli (Grenoble) - t.b.a.
16:00-16:45
BBG 161
(e) Michael Entov (Technion) - Lagrangian isotopies and symplectic function theory
16:30-17:20
BBG 161
(4) Jakub Byszewski (Krakow) - t.b.a.
Monday, March 19, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
Lars van den Berg - Examples of Witt rings II
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
12:00-13:00
HFG Library
Bring Your Own Lunch (BYOL)
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Renee Hoekzema (Oxford) - t.b.a.
Thursday, March 22, 2018
15:30-16:30
KBG Atlas
The Utrecht Mathematical Colloquium
Georg Dolzmann (Universität Regensburg) - TBA
Friday, March 23, 2018
13:15-14:15
Extra Number Theory Talk
Marta Pieropan (EPFL Lausanne) - t.b.a., Duistermaat ruimte
Monday, March 26, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Jakub Byszewski (Jagiellonian University) - t.b.a.
Monday, April 2, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Monday, April 9, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Anna Haensch (Duquesne University/MPIM Bonn) - t.b.a.
Monday, April 16, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
12:00-13:00
HFG Library
Bring Your Own Lunch (BYOL)
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Robert van der Vorst (VU Amsterdam) - t.b.a.
Monday, April 23, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Jaclyn Lang (MPIM Bonn) - t.b.a.
Monday, April 30, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Monday, May 7, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
t.b.a. () - t.b.a.
Monday, May 14, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
t.b.a. () - t.b.a.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Complex Systems Seminar
Bezoeker Kreisbeck (UU) - TBA
Title:
Abstract:
Monday, May 21, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
12:00-13:00
HFG Library
Bring Your Own Lunch (BYOL)
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
t.b.a. () - t.b.a.
Monday, May 28, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
t.b.a. () - t.b.a.
Monday, June 4, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Clément Dupont (Université de Montpellier) - t.b.a.
Monday, June 11, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
t.b.a. () - t.b.a.
Thursday, June 14, 2018
15:30-16:30
Ruppert ROOD
Kan Lecture / Mathematical Colloquium
Eric Friedlander (USC) - TBA
Monday, June 18, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
12:00-13:00
HFG Library
Bring Your Own Lunch (BYOL)
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
t.b.a. () - t.b.a.
Monday, June 25, 2018
15:00-17:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on Quadratic Forms
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
16:00-17:00
HFG 611
Utrecht Geometry Center Seminar
Diogo Oliveira e Silva (University of Birmingham, UK) - t.b.a.
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
13:15-15:00
HFG 610
Master Seminar on topological K-theory
t.b.a. - t.b.a.
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
15:30-16:00
HFG Library
Institute Tea